top of page

What is in your HEART? How to POSTURE your heart toward God





Today's episode is the start of a series that I want to do about our hearts. Today, I want to go over posturing your heart and what is in your heart. So over the next few episodes, we are going to do a series on the heart. So we're going to go all into what's in your heart, which we're going to do today. The next one will be how God loves us, then we're going to do how we should love God, and then how we should love others. So I want to get into all about what's in your heart today and about posturing your heart. We're going to pair this with some scripture.





First I want to say a quick prayer. LORD, I pray that you lift up every single person reading this right now. Please open up our hearts to you Lord, open up our minds, our eyes, our ears, and help us to know exactly what it is that you want us to get out of this episode. I pray that you wrap your arms around us, show us so much love, and help us to be able to really figure out what's in our hearts. Please remove all the things that are not in alignment with our hearts and the things that are not good LORD. Please refine us, purify us, and use us as a vessel for your work. I love you with every ounce of my being. In Jesus' name, Amen.





So first I want to go over the definition of heart posture. Heart posture is the inner attitude of the mind and heart. So it's not the physical posture of your heart, but that inner attitude of your heart. Where does your heart truly lie? And that's so important for us to dig deep and figure it out because our minds and hearts are very powerful. When it comes to the heart, whenever we're having issues in our lives or when we're feeling a type of way, the way that we behave towards others, our mood, like so many things are based on what's in our hearts and what we truly love and who we truly love.


A lot of issues that we have in our lives are because our heart is not in the right place. So that's why I just wanted to dig deep today into us coming to a revelation and figuring out, okay, "What is in your heart and what should be in your heart?" That's why it's important to dig deep and figure out what is in your heart. I feel like I have been doing a lot of reading with scripture, praying to God, and watching different faith-based podcasts, and even sermons that I've been watching at my church, everything has been bringing me towards this heart posturing and being able to posture our heart towards God.






Let's get into some scripture:


"Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life."

-Proverbs 4:23




"Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me." -Psalm 51:10



"May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight. O LORD, my rock and my Redeemer."

-Psalm 19:14




"For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also."

-Matthew 6:21




"Do not love the world or anything in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. For everything in the world--the cravings of sinful man, the lust of his eyes and the boasting of what he has and does-- comes not from the Father but from the world. The world and its desires pass away. But the man who does the Will of God lives forever." -1 John 2:15-17


So in all of these verses, we can see the importance of posturing our hearts towards loving God and not loving the world. We know that where our treasure is, that's where our heart lies. So that's why it's so important for us to dig deep and figure out, okay, "What is important to me?"




HERE ARE SOME QUESTIONS TO ASK YOURSELF:

I want you to pull out a piece of paper and a pen, or you can pull up the notes on your phone. Just write down these questions and reflect on them for a moment.



  1. I want you to really think about what is the very most important thing. Out of everything else, if everything went away, what's the one thing you would want to keep in your life? The very most important thing in your life? If the thing that is the most important to you is not God. So if you figured out what was the most important thing in your life and you didn't answer "God," "pleasing God," "obeying God," or something to do with the Lord God the Father, Jesus Christ, or the Holy Spirit, then the second question I want you to ask yourself is...



2. Why?

Why is there something above God in your life? As Christians, the very most important thing in our lives should always be God. He is our creator. Jesus Christ died on the cross for our sins. We have eternal life because of Him. He changes everything. He makes everything new, and He changes us for the better. We are dead in our sins, but we're alive in Jesus. So if the very most important thing in your life and your heart's desire is to not please the Lord, obey His commands, and have that close relationship with Him, then it's time for you to dig deep and figure out, "Okay, I have something above God in my life. Why is it there? And what can I do to change that? What can I do to posture my heart towards the Lord?" Once we get our hearts fixed on Jesus, once we get our hearts fixed on obeying the will of God, seeking to live and have a heart like Jesus, and seeking to have that close relationship with Christ, then everything else will fall into place. You may have kids, you may have a husband, there may be things in your life that are very important, but the most important thing in your life should be God. If you truly believe in Jesus Christ and are a Christian, that should be the most important thing in your life. Make sure that your relationship with Christ is good above all else and everything else will fall into place.



So how can we posture our hearts?

We posture our hearts by asking God to align our hearts with Him and His will for our lives and we do that through prayer. We have to spend some uninterrupted time every day, even just a few minutes a day, to have that closeness with God and say, "LORD search me. Search my heart. Whatever is in there that's not in alignment with what you have for my life, take it away." We do not need selfish ambition in our hearts. We do not need worldly desires in our hearts. We do not need the love of money in our hearts. We don't need materialistic things in our hearts. That is not going to do any good for anyone.


I have to remind myself of this daily, and I feel like that's why I've been seeing so many different things about this, specifically posturing your heart toward the LORD, because it's something I have been struggling with. I feel like deep down in my core, in my soul, in my Spirit, when I really think about it, my number one desire is to please the LORD and for Him to say, "Well done, good and faithful servant" when it's my time to go to heaven. My heart desires to please the LORD and to have that closeness with God. I've had things in my heart that are right up there with God. It's like God's here and they're just right below it and that is not okay. It's okay to love things deeply, to love others, and to want the best for others. We are going to go over that in one of the episodes of how we should love others, but the very most important thing is loving the LORD with all of our hearts and making sure that we don't have the love of the world in our hearts.


We have to make sure that our hearts are fixed on Jesus, pleasing him, serving the Lord, obeying his commands and not being fixated on this world and having our treasures in this world, because our true treasure is in heaven with Jesus and God the Father. We can't take the things of this world with us so there's no point in putting too much emphasis on the things of this world. It's so important for us to have God search us and make sure that our hearts are in alignment with what He has for our lives. We have to fully surrender to Him and say, "LORD whatever is in my heart that is not in alignment with what You have for my life and Your will, take it away. I do not want it. My number one desire is to please You. My number one desire is to be close to You and love you with all my heart. If I have things getting in the way of that, take those away."





So take some time today to reflect on the most important thing in your life, and why that thing is the very most important in your life. Reflect if there's anything in your heart that is not in alignment with God's will for your life, and take some time to pray, spend some time with God today, and make sure that your heart is in alignment with Him and His will for your life. So that is all for today's episode. Next episode we are going to go into how God loves us, so make sure you stay tuned for that.





I love you guys so much.


Never forget to choose faith over fear.



-Lorena Camille (Faith Fuels My Fire)




p.s. If you'd rather listen to Faith-based, spiritual growth, mindset, and mental health tips, then check out my podcast. There I will share my personal experiences, stories I've never told before, and bring you along with this hot mess life of mine. New episodes every week.

For more info on the "Christ Transforms Me" journal or to purchase it click here

You can also follow me on Instagram (_lorenacamille_) I'll be posting frequently and doing daily stories.

For past Bible Studies on the books of Jeremiah, John, & Acts join our Facebook Community






Scripture taken from the HOLY BIBLE, NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION. Copyright 1973, 1978, 1984 by International Bible Society. Used by permission of Zondervan. All rights


Recent Posts

See All

©2019 by Faith Fuels My Fire. 

bottom of page