top of page

How Does Jesus Command Us to Love One Another?





So today's episode is episode number 4, the last episode of our series on love. So we've gone over what's in our hearts and making sure that we are posturing our hearts towards God. We've also gone over how God loves us and how we should love God. So if you haven't checked out those episodes already, make sure you go check them out. Today I'm going to go all into how we should love others and I'm going to pair it with scripture.




First I want to say a quick prayer. LORD, I pray that you lift up every single person reading this right now. Please open up our eyes, our ears, our hearts, and our minds to you LORD. Please help us to see exactly how we should love others and reveal that love in our hearts LORD. Please help us to be able to portray the fruit of the Spirit to others. Thank you for everything that you've done. Thank you for your unconditional love, for guiding us, and for protecting us. I love you with every ounce of my being. In Jesus' name, Amen.





Let's get into some scripture:


"Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins." -1 Peter 4:8




"Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves. Each of you should look not only to your own interests, but also to the interests of others."

-Philippians 2:3-4



"Dear friends, let us love one another, for love comes from God. Everyone who loves has been born of God and knows God. Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love." -1 John 4:7-8




"A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another." -John 13:34-35


So this is Jesus talking to his disciples about loving one another and He says that as he has loved us, we should love one another. We saw two episodes ago the love that God has for us and Jesus's sacrificial love for us. He loved us so much that He died on the cross to forgive us of our sins. Also in John chapter 13, we can see where he washed his disciples' feet and that demonstrates the sacrificial love that He has for us. Jesus humbled himself and washed his disciples' feet and he told them to do it to others.





"Now that I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you should also wash one another's feet. I have set you an example that you should do as I have done for you." -John 13:14-15


We can see here that Jesus humbled himself, loved, and served others and that's how we should be. We should humble ourselves, love, and serve others, and have that sacrificial love. Just like Jesus loves us, that's how we should love one another.




So I want you to think and reflect today on some things that you can do to show love to others. How can you serve others today? How can you serve others throughout the week? What are some things that you can do to show that love, to humble yourself, and be there for others?


I want you to take a piece of paper and a pen or the notes on your phone and start writing or typing. You can pray and ask God to reveal in your heart some things that you should do, but just ask yourself, what can I do to show love to others? So take a few minutes, reflect, pray, get your heart postured right, and figure out, "Okay, what are some things that I can do to help others, serve others, love others? And what are some things that I can do differently every day to show that love towards others and portray the fruit of the spirit to others?"





So that's it for today's episode. That is it for the series on our hearts and love and all of those things. I'm not sure what I'm going to do next for these episodes. If you have some ideas, you can comment them below or you can email me at faithfuelsmyfire@gmail.com. Let me know if there's another series that you want me to do about a specific topic or anything Faith-based. I want to be able to help you guys, so if you have an idea for a new series or new topics, anything that you want me to talk about, send me an email or you can message me on Facebook at Lorena Camille. You can also request to join the group. Faith Fuels My Fire on Facebook if you'd like and message me on there.







I love you guys so much.


Never forget to choose faith over fear.



-Lorena Camille (Faith Fuels My Fire)




p.s. If you'd rather listen to Faith-based, spiritual growth, mindset, and mental health tips, then check out my podcast. There I will share my personal experiences, stories I've never told before, and bring you along with this hot mess life of mine. New episodes every week.

For more info on the "Christ Transforms Me" journal or to purchase it click here

You can also follow me on Instagram (_lorenacamille_) I'll be posting frequently and doing daily stories.

For past Bible Studies on the books of Jeremiah, John, & Acts join our Facebook Community






Scripture taken from the HOLY BIBLE, NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION. Copyright 1973, 1978, 1984 by International Bible Society. Used by permission of Zondervan. All rights


Recent Posts

See All

©2019 by Faith Fuels My Fire. 

bottom of page