top of page

The Unforgivable Sin. What is it? Discerning the Truth of God's Words.




In today's episode, I talk about the unforgivable sin. I know the view on the unforgivable sin is different for a lot of people. Growing up I didn't realize what the unforgivable sin was. So I want to shed some light on this for anyone that is confused about what the unforgivable sin is.




First I want to say a quick prayer... Lord, I pray that you lift up every single person reading this right now. I pray that You open up our hearts, our minds, our eyes, and our ears to You Lord. Holy Spirit please guide us and help us to see the truth, know the truth, discern the truth, and live by the truth. I love you with every ounce of my being. In Jesus' name, Amen.




So a couple of weeks ago my pastor went over the unforgivable sin and when he explained it, it made so much sense. Growing up I was very confused about what sins can you commit and what's forgivable and unforgivable, and I feel like there are a lot of people out there that were the same way and may still be the same way today. So I wanted to explain everything about the unforgivable sin today and pair it with some scripture.




Here are some scriptures about the unforgivable sin:


"I tell you the truth, all the sins and blasphemies of men will be forgiven them, but whoever blasphemes against the Holy Spirit will never be forgiven; he is guilty of an eternal sin.” -Mark 3:28-29


"And so I tell you, every sin and blasphemy will be forgiven men, but the blasphemy against the Spirit will not be forgiven. 32 Anyone who speaks a word against the Son of Man will be forgiven, but anyone who speaks against the Holy Spirit will not be forgiven, either in this age or in the age to come." -Matthew 12:31-32


Alright, so right there in those verses we see that blasphemy of the Holy Spirit is the unforgivable sin. Any other sin can be forgiven. So what exactly is blasphemy of the Holy Spirit? With me, I knew that was the unforgivable sin but I wasn't sure what blasphemy even meant, and when I looked it up it still didn't quite make sense to me. So I'm going to break it down for you guys because this is how my pastor explained it, and whenever he explained it this way I was like "This makes perfect sense, how did I never know that?" I'm sure a lot of other people don't know that as well, so that's why I'm on here to explain it to you guys.


So first I'm just gonna read the definition of blasphemy according to the Bible, and I just got this definition off of Google. So what is blasphemy? Blasphemy is "disrespect shown to God or something holy or something said or done to show that kind of disrespect." Okay, so what is the first encounter that we have with the Holy Spirit? The first encounter we have with the Holy Spirit is whenever we're saved by Jesus. When we believe in Jesus Christ, we know He's the way, the truth and the life, and we ask him to come into our hearts and forgive us of our sins. So blasphemy of the Holy Spirit is unbelief. It's defying that Holy Spirit and defying Jesus being our Lord and Savior and believing in him.


So whenever you think of what is the one sin that cannot be forgiven, it's unbelief. It's not believing in Jesus Christ. It's defying the Holy Spirit and the urge to confess that Jesus is the Lord and that He is the only way into heaven. The Holy Spirit speaks truth and the truth that the Holy Spirit speaks is from God. So whenever we don't believe in Jesus Christ and we don't ask Him to come to our hearts and be saved, that is blasphemy of the Holy Spirit. So the only sin that cannot be forgiven is unbelief, not believing in Jesus Christ. Whenever we do believe in Jesus Christ and we ask Him to come into our hearts and forgive us of our sins, He forgives us of all of our sins and He washes us white as snow.




Oh hey friend, sorry to interrupt this blog post, but I just wanted to remind you guys that "Christ Transforms Me," my 90-day journal is available for purchase on Amazon. To learn more about the journal or to purchase one, go to www.faithfuelsmyfire.com/journal




I also wanted to point this out because this was a good point that my pastor said as well, which made a lot of sense because growing up I felt the same way. So a lot of people think that suicide is the unforgivable sin or one of the sins that can't be forgiven because you can't ask Jesus for forgiveness whenever you commit suicide. You can't ask Jesus for forgiveness because you're gone and so that's what a lot of people think is like, "Well, how can that sin be forgiven if you can't ask Jesus for forgiveness?" But the thing is, whenever we're saved by Jesus, our sins are already forgiven. He forgives us at that moment of saving us. He washes us white as snow.


It is important for us to continue to repent whenever we sin, even though we're already forgiven, which I'm gonna go into that next week so make sure you stay tuned for that if you wanna know the importance of repenting after you are saved, but the only sin that cannot be forgiven is unbelief. That's why it is so important for us to spread the gospel of Jesus to others and let other people know about Jesus Christ. A lot of people were raised up not knowing anything about Jesus, or maybe knowing a little bit. Maybe they think that they may have a relationship with God, but they don't know Jesus Christ, they Don't know that He is the way, the truth and the life, and He's the only way to enter into heaven. So we have to spread the gospel to others and let them know that Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life. He's the very most important thing, and we cannot enter heaven without him.



So I hope this episode helped you guys to know what the unforgivable sin is and what blasphemy of the Holy Spirit actually means. Make sure you stay tuned for next week for our episode on the importance of repenting.




I love you guys so much.


Never forget to choose faith over fear.



-Lorena Camille (Faith Fuels My Fire)




p.s. If you'd rather listen to Faith-based, spiritual growth, mindset, and mental health tips, then check out my podcast. There I will share my personal experiences, stories I've never told before, and bring you along with this hot mess life of mine. New episodes every week.

For more info on the "Christ Transforms Me" journal or to purchase it click here

You can also follow me on Instagram (_lorenacamille_) I'll be posting frequently and doing daily stories.

For past Bible Studies on the books of Jeremiah, John, & Acts join our Facebook Community






Scripture taken from the HOLY BIBLE, NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION. Copyright 1973, 1978, 1984 by International Bible Society. Used by permission of Zondervan. All rights




Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page