top of page

There is No Other Gospel Than That of Jesus Christ. Bible Study. Galatians Ch 1




Here is a teaching on chapter 1 of the book of Galatians. If you want to check out previous Bible studies and chapters going forward, join our group here. Once you get added to that Facebook group, you can go to the "units" tab and you'll see all of the chapters and their study guides as they are being taught.






I did want to say a quick prayer... Lord, I pray that you lift up every single person reading this right now. Please give us knowledge and understanding to know exactly what it is that we are reading and the wisdom to implement it in our daily lives. Please lead, guide, and direct us and help us through every aspect of our lives. Holy Spirit please guide us and help us to see the truth, know the truth, discern the truth, and live by the truth. I pray that whatever it is that each person is supposed to receive from this Bible study, they receive it and implement it in their daily lives. I love you with every ounce of my being. In Jesus' name, Amen.






Galatians Chapter 1:

1 Paul, an apostle—sent not from men nor by man, but by Jesus Christ and God the Father, who raised him from the dead— 2 and all the brothers with me,

To the churches in Galatia:

3 Grace and peace to you from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ, 4 who gave himself for our sins to rescue us from the present evil age, according to the will of our God and Father, 5 to whom be glory for ever and ever. Amen.


So the book of Galatians was written by the apostle Paul while he was in prison for spreading the gospel, and this was a letter that he wrote to the Church in Galatia. So what Paul says in verse 1, Paul was sent by Jesus. Jesus chose Paul to carry his name before the Gentiles and the people of Israel and to suffer for the name of Jesus Christ. We saw this from our Bible study in chapter 9 of the Book of Acts. What Paul says in verse 4, Jesus Christ died on the cross for our sins, so that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. Jesus lived a perfect sinless life and he died on the cross to forgive us of our sins








6 I am astonished that you are so quickly deserting the one who called you by the grace of Christ and are turning to a different gospel— 7 which is really no gospel at all. Evidently some people are throwing you into confusion and are trying to pervert the gospel of Christ. 8 But even if we or an angel from heaven should preach a gospel other than the one we preached to you, let him be eternally condemned! 9 As we have already said, so now I say again: If anybody is preaching to you a gospel other than what you accepted, let him be eternally condemned!


10 Am I now trying to win the approval of men, or of God? Or am I trying to please men? If I were still trying to please men, I would not be a servant of Christ.


In verses 6-7, the people in the Church of Galatia were turning away from the grace of God and Jesus Christ and they were turning toward this false idea. The words gospel means "good news," and there is no good news other than that of Jesus Christ. So this different gospel that these people were being taught was no gospel at all because there was only bad news in it. There were some people that were confusing these people in the Church of Galatia by bringing them this false gospel. In verses 8-9 when Paul says "eternally condemned," that means being separated eternally from God and banished to hell. So anyone that preaches of a gospel other than that of Jesus Christ is to be eternally condemned. The only gospel that we should ever preach is that of Jesus and any other gospel is false and it is against God. We have to spread the good news of Jesus to others and never try to deceive them with false ideas or beliefs.


In verse 10, Paul only wanted to please God the Father and Jesus Christ. As disciples and servants of Jesus Christ, we have to live our lives to please God and not to please others. This world is full of lies, deception, and hate. As Christians, we will never be fully accepted by the people of this world and that's okay because we aren't here to please people but to please God.








Oh hey friend, sorry to interrupt this blog post, but I just wanted to remind you guys that "Christ Transforms Me," my 90-day journal is available for purchase on Amazon. Until further notice, all of the money that I receive from the purchases of that journal will be donated for the disaster relief of the people that were affected by the tornadoes that hit my hometown in Kentucky. To learn more about the journal or to purchase one, go to www.faithfuelsmyfire.com/journal








11 I want you to know, brothers, that the gospel I preached is not something that man made up. 12 I did not receive it from any man, nor was I taught it; rather, I received it by revelation from Jesus Christ.


13 For you have heard of my previous way of life in Judaism, how intensely I persecuted the church of God and tried to destroy it. 14 I was advancing in Judaism beyond many of my own age among my people and was extremely zealous for the traditions of my fathers. 15 But when God, who set me apart from birth and called me by his grace, was pleased 16 to reveal his Son in me so that I might preach him among the Gentiles, I did not consult any man, 17 nor did I go up to Jerusalem to see those who were apostles before I was, but I went immediately into Arabia and later I returned to Damascus.


18 Then after three years, I went up to Jerusalem to get acquainted with Peter and stayed with him fifteen days. 19 I saw none of the other apostles—only James, the Lord’s brother. 20 I assure you before God that what I am writing you is no lie.

21 Then I went to Syria and Cilicia. 22 I was personally unknown to the churches of Judea that are in Christ. 23 They only heard the report: “The man who formerly persecuted us is now preaching the faith he once tried to destroy.” 24 And they praised God because of me.


Alright, so those are all of the verses of chapter 1 of the book of Galatians, but I'm going to discuss these verses with you guys here. So in verses 11-12, the gospel or good news of Jesus Christ is true. In Acts chapter 9:3-13, as Paul (formerly known as Saul) was close to Damascus to imprison men and women who belonged to the Way, a light from heaven flashed around him, he fell to the ground, and Jesus came to him and asked him why he was persecuting him. Jesus told Paul (or Saul) to get up and go to the city and he would be told what to do. When Paul got up and opened his eyes he couldn't see anything and he was blind for 3 days. Then Jesus came to Ananias in a vision and told him to go place his hands on Saul (Paul) to restore his sight. Once Paul (Saul) could see he was filled with the Holy Spirit, baptized, and then he preached about the gospel of Jesus Christ. What Paul says here in verses 13-14, in chapter 7 of the book of Acts see we where Saul (Paul) was giving approval to the death of Stephen (who was one of the Seven from chapter 6 of the book of Acts).


In verses 15-20, after the conversion that we see in Acts chapter 9 Paul went to Arabia. The words of the Bible are spread out from events that had happened throughout thousands of years. So in between Acts chapter 9:19-20 Paul had spent time in Arabia and all of this stuff that Paul talks about here in these verses in chapter 1 of Galatians happened but it wasn't recorded in the book of Acts. Paul was filled with the Holy Spirit and he went wherever the Holy Spirit lead him. In verses 22-24, because Paul was preaching the gospel of Jesus that he once was persecuting people because of, the people of the churches of Judea praised God. This just goes to show that God can use anyone to spread the gospel of Jesus, he can change the heart and life of anyone, and Paul is a testimony of this. Paul went from putting those in prison who spoke of the name of Jesus to preaching the gospel of Jesus and being put in prison because of it.






Here are 3 takeaways to write down:

1. Paul was sent by Jesus to preach the good news


2. There is no other good news than that of Jesus Christ


3. God can use and change anyone by His great power






Galatians Ch 1 Study Guide

  1. Who sent Paul to spread the gospel?

  2. Is there another gospel other than that of Jesus Christ? Why or why not?

  3. Who should we be trying to please? Why?

  4. Why did Jesus use Paul to preach the good news of him?

  5. What is your biggest takeaway from this Bible study?





So that concludes this Bible study on chapter 1 of the Book of Galatians. Wednesday we're going to go into chapter 2, so make sure you stay tuned for that.




I love you guys so much.


Never forget to choose faith over fear.



-Lorena Camille (Faith Fuels My Fire)




p.s. If you'd rather listen to Faith-based, spiritual growth, mindset, and mental health tips, then check out my podcast. There I will share my personal experiences, stories I've never told before, and bring you along with this hot mess life of mine. New episodes daily.

For more info on the "Christ Transforms Me" journal or to purchase it click here

You can also follow me on Instagram (_lorenacamille_) I'll be posting frequently and doing daily stories.

For past Bible Studies on the books of Jeremiah, John, Acts, & Luke join our Facebook Community






Scripture taken from the HOLY BIBLE, NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION. Copyright 1973, 1978, 1984 by International Bible Society. Used by permission of Zondervan. All rights

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page